This past week or so…

31 Aug

This past week has been one of the best rollercoasters I have ever been on in my young life…

To say I put the pedal to the medal on my grind would be a complete understatement. To be honest, this whole past two weeks have been a blur as I barely got more then 3 hours of sleep a night. Alot of times less. Me and my homie (4 life) DJ NEF-YOU grinded out this “Southern Hospitality” mixtape that you see above. I really wanted to his this project ready and released on the date of the Sean Price show I was opening up for on the 26th. I started the project exactly a month before that so that didn’t leave much time for any thing to go wrong. I knew I was going to be premiering a lot of new music in my performance and I really wanted everyone who supports me and the Boombox movement to have something from me that they could take home. My motivation through all this was getting that for them. It was for me as well, because in less then a month (writing, recording, mixing, designing, etc.) I put together a release I am very very proud of. Needless to say, it was a process and without the help of some very special and talented people,  I would never have been able to get it done. Big shouts to NEF-YOU, Mint, Jesse, Faizel, Pro, and Omar (especially for that last last minute studio time, thank you brother!)

Last Tuesday we also shot a video for a cut off the mixtape called “Malone and Mint” featuring my homie and future of this hip hop thang, JR Mint.  We shot it at Belvia Sound, Mint’s studio, and the shots I have seen so far have been incredible. I included a photo Jesse took from the video, so look out for that soon! Directed by Jesse Lee Bertrand and Jon Moye. Jesse also did the artwork for the mixtape. He is a super talented dude. Great to work and chill with.

Sp all the work all culminated to the show that was the SEAN P x BOOMBOX SAINTS show this past Thursday at the Revival! As always, the positive energy and good vibes of a Boombox party was in full effect and the show was off…the…hook.

So all this lead the big day! The SEAN P x BOOMBOX SAINTS show! And it is a night I’ll never forget. Seeing the positive reaction from the crowd to my performance was something I felt through my whole being on stage. I love to be up there so much and it’s amazing to have new music to perform for my people there. The response to the new music has been incredible as well. My homie Fundament put everything into this show and I’m glad it was as big of a success as it was. Very proud of that dude right there. The night was dope! Beautiful women, cold drinks, smoke everywhere outside, ill performances, what more could you ask for?! I also got the pleasure to share a meal with the Legendary Sean Price after the show which was also something special getting to politic with the man about the game and the people in it. He is a joker and a half! P! lol

Either way, much much much love to everyone who came out that night and supported! Everyone had a good time and it will be a night I will never forget.

Post above this will have the mixtape!

Enjoy! Let me know what you like and don’t!

Much love!

Your homie,
– Ray

Leave a Reply

